Ah, the smell of primer in the morning

So as you might know, I do my own automotive repair on my two cars, both of which are 13-14 years old. My car, an illustrious 2000 dodge neon which has treated me very well since I’ve had him (the kids affectionately call him Stitch due to his blue color and quirkiness), is showing skin cancer aka body rust. Before the rust spots get too bad, I took part of my morning to run a few quick errands after dropping off the kids at school (using Bessie, our Suzuki mini SUV) and headed to the hallowed aisles of Wal Mart. Armed with automotive primer spray, assorted sandpaper, facemasks, and nitrile gloves, I returned to Stitch, sitting in my driveway, waiting for his minor procedure. After much sanding to remove the offending rust I blasted the rust with some primer and let it sit for a while. Now wait, why am I even bothering? Why not unload Stitch and get another car? Or just bring it to a body shop? Financially I can’t swing another car, and I can’t afford a body shop either. Stitch is what I have and what I will run till he croaks. A lot of us are in similar situations. Automotive repair isn’t as bad as it seems. I am shocked at the amount of people who have never changed their own oil, or a flat tire. Even if you only do it once in your life, I feel everyone should know how to do the basics. I’m teaching The Wife everything I can about cars. She grew up misinformed by ex boyfriends, friends, etc. So I gently correct her terminology when I can. I always have the fear that I won’t be there when something happens, and with my old job, it did. She had a car break down on her once or twice while I was traveling. AAA was worth its weight in gold in some of those circumstances, but still. Sometimes it’s a simple thing that you can avoid losing two hours of your life waiting for someone to come. I insist, if you generally know what you are doing when it comes to cars, share that knowledge with someone you love.

Leave a Reply

